New Act of the Year

Comedy for Your Event/Venue


Comedy Courses



Competition Home

The Rules & Entry Reuirements

Enter the Competition


Past Years

See all upcoming shows
Select Comedy Venue
New Page 1



The Laughing Horse New Act of the Year competition has been running since 2001, and in that time there has been a huge number of acts that have been discovered by it. Some have gone on to become household names - Russell Kane, Rhod Gilbert and Jack Whitehall are just a few to name, and there are many more act that are now top-level award comedy acts, Edinburgh, BAFTA and International award winners, national and international tours and festivals and much more. Here's the full list of the acts that have been talented enough to reach the final since it all started 15 years ago.


Winner: Donal Vaughan

Runners Up: Nigel Ng and Cheekykita 

Special Mentions to: Emmanuel Sounobi

Finalists: John Pendal, Saskia Preston, Peter Flanagan, Dimitri Bankanov, Njambi McGrath, Dylan Gott, Glorious Monster, Lucy Roper, Flora Anderson, James Shakeshaft



Winner: Jenny Collier

Runners Up: Olaf Falafel and Ed Caruana

Special Mentions to: Eshaan Akbar and Lydia Hirst 

Finalists: George Rigden, In Cahoots, Jenny B-Side, Joe Jacobs, Katherine Ferns, Nabil Absulrashid, Robin Morgan, Robyn Perkins, Simon Caine, Wizzy Janew


2013 Winner Sofie Hagen2013

Winner: Sophie Hagan

Runners Up: Alasdair Beckett-King & Jonny Pelham

Special Mention to: Jack Heal

Finalists: Richard Stainbank, Ben Clover, Andrew McBurney, Zak Splijt, Mark Barrowcliffe, ames Farmer, Alistair Williams, Sunil Patel, Mo The Comic


2012 Winner Bobby Mair2012

Winner: Bobby Mair

Runners Up: Matt Rees & Matthew Giffen

Special Mention to: Funmbi Omotayo

Finalists: Rob Mair Barry Ferns Tallah Khosravian Funmbi Omotayo Hill & Wheedon Matthew Giffen Nick Beaton Darius Davies Harriet Kemsley Wayne Mazadza Leo Kearse Matt Rees Laura Caruthers

2010 Winner Julian Deane2011

Winner: Adam Belbin

Runner Up: Mark Stephenson

Joint 3rd: Darren Walsh & Chris Turner

Finalists: Patrick Lappin, Tom Rowson, Henry Ginsberg, Darren Maskell, Suzy Wylde, Lauren Shearing, Damian Kingsley, Stephen Bugeja

2010 Winner Julian Deane2010

Winner: Julian Deane

Runner Up: Andrea Hubert

3rd Place: Daniel Smith

Special Mention: Richard Rycroft

Finalists: Dan Wright, David Gibson, Mark Cornell, Inel Tomlinson, Mark Restuccia, Alan Sharp, Anna Freyberg, Robert Comminskey, Pete Beckley

2009 Winner SAM GORE2009

Winner: Sam Gore

Runner Up: Joe Lycett

3rd Place: Fergus Craig

Finalists: Kai Humphries, Helm & Taylor, Alex Maple, Jason Patterson, Tony Dunn, Andrew Ryan, Lambros Fisfis, Lady Garden, Michel O'Donovan, Martin Hill

kev09.jpg (3610 bytes)2008

Winner: Darren Ruddell as 'Kev'

Runner Up: Henry Paker

3rd Place: Ismo Leikola

Finalists: Imran Yusuf, Tom Rosenthal, Andi Osho, Ben Hayman, Daniel Simonsen, Nat Luurtsema, Nathaniel Tapley, Pat Burtscher, Paul McCaffrey, Tom Canty


Winner: Daniel Rigby

Runner Up: Jack Whitehall

3rd Place: Stuart Black

Finalists: Liz Carr, Andrew Watts, Joanne Lau, Snorri Kristjansson, Joe K, Mowten, Grainne Maguire, Rob Alderson, Matt Rudge


Winner: Carl Donnelly

Runner Up: Neil Price

3rd Place: Tomi Walamies

Finalists: Andy Sir, Stuart Goldsmith, Wendy Reed, Tom Clutterbuck, Marlon Davies, Duncan Crawford, Jim Smallman, Nick Cowen, Lee Brace


Winner: James Branch

Runner Up: Joe Wilkinson

3rd Place: Al Stick

Finalists: Vince Atta, Griff Griffiths, Nathan Caton, Papa CJ, Gary Bell, Terry Saunders, Adam English, Tony Littler, Del Strain


Winner: Russell Kane

Runner Up: Chris McCausland

3rd Place: Steve Francis

Honourable Mentions: Simon Fielder and Victor Daniel

Finalists: Geoff Taylor, Duncan Logan, Richard Kilby, Frank Honeybone, Matt Price, Helmut, Henning Vehn.


Winner: Marek Larwood

Runner Up: Matt Kirshen

3rd Place: Rhod Gilbert

Honourable Mention: Steve Hall

Finalists: Saj, Teddy, Matt & Faron, John Lauren, Ronak Mashru

gregwin.jpg (7020 bytes)2002

Winner: Greg Davies

Runner Up: Paul Kerensa

3rd Place: Nina Conti

Finalists: Daft Johnny Vader, Paddy Lennox, Kevin Shepherd, Karen Cockfield, Doniert McFarlane, Jaik Campbell, Vicky Frango


Winner: Matt Blaize

Runner Up: Simon Kent

3rd Place: Chris Tisdal as 'Dylan'

Finalists: Barney Power, Bill Horrigan, Gina Fidelson, Mel Crosby, Simon Gent, Steve Williams, Susan & Janice



Laughing Horse & Comedy Point - Website Design & Development by Craig Shaynak and Alex Petty

About Us & Privacy Policy

Hire A Comedian Book Comedy in my Venue
Hire Comedians Book Comedians Comedy Courses
New Act of the Year  Corporate Events Comedy Agencies
The Edinburgh Fringe The Brighton Fringe The Adelaide Fringe
Christmas Party Comedians Performers Information Office Christmas Comedy